Rajya Sabha clears Telangana Bill

February 20, 2014 19:30
Rajya Sabha clears Telangana Bill

Rajya Sabha has approved the Telangana Bill short while ago with voice vote after a huge discussion. The CPM party demanded an voting on the Bill but Speaker rejected the option as the many MPs were protesting at the Speaker's podium. Trinamool Congress, Samajwadi Party and Seemandhra TDP MPs protested at Speaker's podium against the Bill but many parties have delivered their party views and opinion of the Bill. BJP leader Venkaiah Naidu was the first MP to start the debate on the Bill. He demanded special package for Seemandhra and tax exemption for the region. In addition to this Venkaiah said Center government should establish a special railway zone and Uttarandhra, Rayalaseema should be identified as backward regions.

Chiranjeevi opposed the Telangana bill but the as Congress men he said he would abide by the Congress party indication support to the Telangana Bill.  Trinamool Congress, Samajwadi Party and DMK opposed the bill while DMK walked out. BSP chief Mayawati supported the Telangana Bill and also demanded the division of Uttar Pradesh into four states. She also demanded a special package for Telangana region as many leaders said it is backward.

Seemandhra MP KVP Ramchander Rao collapsed in the house with back pain as he was agitating against the bifurcation of Andhra Pradesh.

(AW: Vamshi)

If you enjoyed this Post, Sign up for Newsletter

(And get daily dose of political, entertainment news straight to your inbox)

Rate This Article
(0 votes)