Amaravati Shuts Down in Protest After Three Capitals Announcement

December 20, 2019 11:06
Amaravati Shuts Down in Protest After Three Capitals Announcement

(Image source from:

Amaravati Shuts Down in Protest After Three Capitals Announcement:- The Government of Andhra Pradesh announced that the state would have three capitals: Amaravati, Kurnool and Visakhapatnam. Soon after the announcement came from AP Chief Minister YS Jaganmohan Reddy, protests started in Amaravati, the capital of Andhra Pradesh. Farmers gathered in large numbers in 29 villages from the region. The protests continued for the entire day and the AP Government imposed 144 section in the region. Schools, businesses, government offices and hotels have been shut down in the wake of a call for bandh in 29 villages in and around the capital city.

Farmers and laborers from the region launched relay strike across the major centers of Velagapudi near the Secretariat of Andhra Pradesh. The Thullur police imposed restrictions under Section 144 of Cr PC and Section 34 of the Police Act. Hundreds of farmers from the region took roads and protested across the streets against YS Jagan. Farmers demanded Amaravati to be the full-fledged capital of Andhra Pradesh. Despite of the warnings from the cops, the farmers staged protests on the roads. Three additional SPs, 10 DSPs, 20 CIs and 30 SIs reached Amaravati to control the situations.

Several roads and places have been blocked by the protestors. TDP leaders staged Rasta Roko on Vijayawada and Hyderabad National Highway. BJP supported the move of High Court in Kurnool.

If you enjoyed this Post, Sign up for Newsletter

(And get daily dose of political, entertainment news straight to your inbox)

Rate This Article
(0 votes)
Tagged Under :
AP capital  Amaravati  Amaravati farmers