BJP Gets a Shock in Jharkhand Assembly Polls

December 24, 2019 09:51
BJP Gets a Shock in Jharkhand Assembly Polls

(Image source from:

BJP Gets a Shock in Jharkhand Assembly Polls:- The leading BJP pinned many hopes on the Jharkhand Assembly polls and the results are out last evening. The JMM-Congress-RJD alliance ended up as the winner in the polls with a comfortable majority of 47 seats out of 81 in the house. Jharkhand happens to be one more slip out for BJP and is one of the biggest sweeps for Modi's government. Hemanth Soren of JMM will take the oath as the new Chief Minister of the state. He earlier was the Chief Minister for a year before BJP won in 2015.

Hemanth Soren will take oath as the new Chief Minister on Thursday. BJP won 37 seats last time but this time, they had to adjust with 25 seats. After the talks failed with the AJSU party, BJP decided to contest alone in the polls. BJP would have fought well if the alliance was inked. Jharkhand Chief Minister Raghubar Das lost his own Jamshedpur East seat to BJP rebel leader Saryu Roy with a huge margin of 15,000 votes. There are talks that BJP faced the heat after the Ayodhya verdict and the Citizenship Amendment Act. BJP State President Laxman Gilua too lost his seat in the Assembly polls.

(Video Source: NTV Telugu)

If you enjoyed this Post, Sign up for Newsletter

(And get daily dose of political, entertainment news straight to your inbox)

Rate This Article
(0 votes)
Tagged Under :
Jharkhand Assembly Polls  BJP  JMM