MS Dhoni Steps Down as Indian Cricket Teams Captain

January 05, 2017 09:19
MS Dhoni Steps Down as Indian Cricket Teams Captain

"Mahendra Singh Dhoni has stepped down as the captain of the Indian ODI and T20I cricket teams", the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) announced in a press release on Wednesday.

Dhoni notified the board that he would be there for selection for the upcoming series against England, but wouldn't be continuing in the skipper's role.

"Mahendra Singh Dhoni has informed the BCCI, that he wishes to step down as the captain of the Indian Cricket Team from the One Day Internationals and the T20 Internationals formats of the game," the board said in a statement.

"He will be available for the selection for the One Day and T20I series against England and the same has been conveyed to the Senior Selection Committee," the statement said.

Mahendra  Singh Dhoni was the Indian cricket team captain for 199 one-day Internationals. He won 110 one-day matches and lost 74, with four ties and 11 no-results. He also led India in 72 T20 Internationals, winning 41 and losing 28, with one tie and two no-results.

Commenting on the development, BCCI Chief Executive Officer (CEO) Rahul Johri said: "On behalf of every Indian cricket fan and the BCCI, I would like to thank M.S. Dhoni for his outstanding contribution as the captain of the Indian team across all formats."

"Under his leadership, the Indian team has touched new heights and his achievements will remain etched forever in the annals of Indian cricket," he added.

Dhoni, 35, had previously also had suddenly quit Test captaincy during the Australia tour in 2014 in Melbourne.

Under Dhoni's captainship, India has won the ICC T20 World Cup in 2007, the ICC ODI World Cup in 2011, ICC Champions Trophy in 2013 and also reached the top Test rankings in 2009.

SC Removes Anurag Thakur as BCCI President


If you enjoyed this Post, Sign up for Newsletter

(And get daily dose of political, entertainment news straight to your inbox)

Rate This Article
(0 votes)