Sania Mirza wins Khel Ratna award

August 12, 2015 10:30
Sania Mirza wins Khel Ratna award

Sania Mirza, has been chosen for the Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna award yesterday.

Sania was recommended for this award by retired Chief Justice of Kerala V K Bali. Along with Sania, the committee led by Bali, also recommended 17 other names for the Arjuna award, including athlete M R Poovamma, cricketer Rohit Sharma, shuttler Kidambi Srikanth, shooter Jitu Rai and wrestlers Babita and Bajrang.  

Sania Mirza after Leader Paes

Sania will be the second tennis player to receive this award. Leander Paes was the first player to receive this award in 1996 after winning the bronze medal at the Atlanta Olympics.

2015 - Many memorable moments for Sania 

2015 has become a memorable year to Sania, who became the first Indian woman to become No. 1 in doubles rankings and also clinch a women’s doubles Grand Slam title. She won the 2015 Wimbledon title partnering Swiss ace Martina Hingis.

Reacting on this, Sania tweeted, “Whooaa.. waking up in Toronto to the most amazing news from back home.. Thank you everyone .. Thank you so much.”

In the 2014 Asian Games in Incheon, South Korea, Sania won gold and bronze medals in the mixed and women’s doubles. She has three Grand Slams in mixed doubles to her credit and had also received the Arjuna award and Padma Shri title in 2004 and 2006 years respectively.

On this happy occasion, proudly expresses hearty congratulations to Sania Mirza for being selected for Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna award.

By Phani

If you enjoyed this Post, Sign up for Newsletter

(And get daily dose of political, entertainment news straight to your inbox)

Rate This Article
(0 votes)