Centre Proposes New Rules For “No-Fly” List

May 05, 2017 13:43
Centre Proposes New Rules For “No-Fly” List

The Central Government has proposed new three-tier rules for a “no-fly” list, as a severe measure on reckless passengers.

The rules would be put up on the Civil Aviation Ministry’s website for a month for public feedback, and would be finalized in June, said the Aviation Minister Ashok Gajapathi Raju.

According to the draft rules, any unruly behavior will invite suspension of that passenger from flying for three months to two years and more. The offences have been categorized into three levels. The Level 1 constitutes disruptive behavior such as physical gestures, the level 2 includes physically abusive behavior, sexual harassment and level 3 is for murderous assault or life threatening behavior and damage to aircraft operating systems, quoted a leading news channel.

These new rules have been drafted a month after Shiv Sena MP, Ravindra Gaikwad, beat up an elderly Air India official with his slipper, over seat allocation. The video of the assault went viral on social media, following which the domestic airlines had imposed a complete ban on the MP. After Air India put Gaikwad on the no-fly list, the Federation of Indian Airlines (FIA), which included Jet Airways, SpiceJet, IndiGo and GoAir as its members, had also imposed a ban on Gaikwad from flying on their network, further forcing the politician to apologize in the Parliament. However, the flight ban on the MP had been revoked later, after Gaikwad sent a regret letter to the Aviation Ministry, seeking an apology.

The Air India on Gaikwad’s apology stated that, “In view of the apology tendered by Mr Gaikwad and the undertaking of good conduct given by him, Air India and other airlines have been advised by the Ministry of Civil Aviation to lift ban on Gaikwad.”


If you enjoyed this Post, Sign up for Newsletter

(And get daily dose of political, entertainment news straight to your inbox)

Rate This Article
(0 votes)