Lok Sabha Polls: Telangana Registers 62.32 percent polling

May 14, 2024 12:30
Lok Sabha Polls: Telangana Registers 62.32 percent polling

(Image source from: PTI)

Lok Sabha Polls: Telangana Registers 62.32 percent polling:- Telangana saw a voting percentage of around 62.32 by 6 pm on Monday, as polling for 17 Lok Sabha seats concluded without any major incidents. However, the percentage is expected to rise as there were still voters waiting in queues across the state. Those in line by 6 pm were permitted to cast their ballots. The state had a voter turnout of 71.32% in the November 2023 Assembly elections, and 62.77% in the 2019 Lok Sabha polls. According to Chief Electoral Officer Vikas Raj, polling was still ongoing at 1,300 to 1,400 booths after 6 pm, and the final voting percentage will be known on Tuesday. Raj also praised the good response from voters, and credited the weather for the strong turnout in several districts. In addition, the bypoll for the Secunderabad Cantonment Assembly segment took place peacefully, with 15 candidates competing and a 47.88% voter turnout by 5 pm.

The votes of 525 candidates have been stored within electronic voting machines (EVMs), with the ballot count scheduled for June 4th. An incident occurred at a Malakpet polling station, where BJP Hyderabad candidate K. Madhavi Latha requested some burqa-clad Muslim women to unveil themselves to verify their identity. Later on, at Mir Chowk, supporters of the BJP and AIMIM parties began to shout slogans when the convoys of Madhavi Latha and AIMIM president Asaduddin Owaisi crossed paths. Police dispersed both groups. BJP Adilabad MLA Payal Shankar drew criticism from Congress and CPI women leaders for wearing a saffron khanduva while visiting a polling station. Heated arguments ensued, but were quelled by police intervention. In Narayankhed, Nagesh Shetkar, brother of Zaheerabad Congress MP candidate Suresh Shetkar, kicked BJP activist Santosh Kumar. Polling in 13 Maoist-affected Assembly segments under five Lok Sabha constituencies ended at 4 pm, while the rest of the 106 Assembly segments in 12 Lok Sabha constituencies closed at 6 pm. Khammam had the highest poll percentage at 75.19%, while Hyderabad had the lowest at 39.17%.

Out of 17 Lok Sabha constituencies, five had voter turnout exceeding 70%, namely Khammam (75.19%), Bhongir (72.34%), Nalgonda (70.75%), Medak (73.63%), and Zahirabad (72.48%). On the other hand, the lowest voter turnout was observed in four constituencies within Greater Hyderabad limits. Secunderabad had 42.48% voter turnout, Malkajgiri had 49.06%, Chevella had 53.15%, and Hyderabad had the lowest at 39%. About 115 polling stations received complaints of technical problems with electronic voting machines, forcing officials to replace the malfunctioning machines. Raj Vikas said 38 First Information Reports (FIRs) were registered on Monday for various reasons and against various political parties. In many places, especially in rural areas, the voting was followed with enthusiasm. Voters lined up outside polling stations ahead of the start of voting at 7am. Many voters cast their ballots early in the morning to avoid the summer heat. The process slowed down in the afternoon, but resumed after 15:00. Election officials said polling was postponed due to technical glitches in EVM machines at some places and power outages due to rain and strong winds.

(Video Source: V6 News Telugu)

If you enjoyed this Post, Sign up for Newsletter

(And get daily dose of political, entertainment news straight to your inbox)

Rate This Article
(0 votes)