West Indies latest T20 World Champions

October 08, 2012 11:37
West Indies latest T20 World Champions

After 33 years the Caribbeans got a chance to hold a World cup in any format of the cricket, on Sunday at the T20 World Cup 2012 held in Sri Lanka. The R Premadesa Stadium in Colombo was filled with euphoria with the West Indies (WI) team dancing after winning over the home team in a dominant contest to claim the world championship title. History will record that after West Indies Skipper Clive Lloyd who claimed the world cup in 1979 in the ODI,  Darren Sammy is the only other to claim a World cup. Though a smaller version of a mini world cup which is no longer existing, was claimed in 2004 by the team.


However this one shall remain memorable, especially after winning the Lions in their own den, means a remarkable fete. The Champions defeated the Sri Lanka (SL) team by 36 runs. WI won the toss and elected to bat, but splendid bowling efforts by the home team restricted the visitors to just 32 runs in the first ten overs after having lost  Johnson Charles and Chris Gayle.


WI was worst hit when Gayle returned back to the dressing room after a mere 3 runs. But later  it was Marlon Samuels who scored a magnificent 78 runs to help his team wind up with 137 runs. The issue for the Lankans was that their most reliable bowler Lasith Mallinga was out of form and gave away 54 costly runs in just 4 overs. It was Ajantha Mendis who bowled really well to claim four pricey wickets. WI skipper's unbeaten 26 with the bat and two wickets with the ball made him the Man of the match.


In the second half of the game the Lankans looked pretty out of form even to face the meek total. They were distorted and had less spirits left in them while assuming to bat.  Mahela Jayawardene gave a good start with a 33 knock followed by Kumar Sangakkara who added another 22. The rest were ornamental with exception to Nuwan Kulasekara who again rekindled a hope of victory to the home team. The home team succumbed at 101 all out. On the bowling fronts who made the difference was Sunil Narine who gave a meticulous performance and claimed three wickets.


In the post match effects that were predominant at any world cup many significant developments took place.  The first and the foremost owing to the worst debacle on home grounds the Lankan Skipper  Mahela Jayawardene resigned from captaincy. (With inputs from internet-AW AarKay)


If you enjoyed this Post, Sign up for Newsletter

(And get daily dose of political, entertainment news straight to your inbox)

Rate This Article
(0 votes)